Main Content

2017-18 Events


Join us for the New Jersey Ski & Snowboard Council Expo on Nov. 3 in Whippany, NJ. The  56th Annual Northeast Ski and Craft Beer Showcase is on Nov. 3 - 5 at the Albany Capital Center, Albany, NY. And be sure to join us at the Boston Ski & Snowboard Expo at the Seaport World Trade Center, Nov. 9 - 10.

More Events


NASJA at Camelback

NASJA provides the opportunity to network with over 250 press and corporate members. We are the largest snowsports communication group in North America. Our goal is to drive awareness and participation in snow sports.
Find out more


NASJA Awards

award winner

Once a year, NASJA hosts an Annual Meeting & Awards Show where we recognize and reward our most deserving members for their outstanding coverage of snowsports during the previous year. NASJA also rewards those individuals who have most contributed to the advancement of snowsports in North America.


Member Spotlight: Peggy Shinn

This is the first in a series highlighting the recent work of NASJA members, taken from our Member Clipbook.  Spread the word--submit your work today!

Atlanta 1996A Look At The Legacies That Remain From The 8 Olympics Hosted In The U.S.

BY PEGGY SHINN | SEPT. 13, 2017 | from
Since Baron Pierre de Coubertin revived the modern Olympic Games in 1896, the United States has hosted the Games eight times in six different cities and towns.

With the Olympic and Paralympic Games expected to be hosted in Los Angeles in 2028, here’s a look at how these six cities and towns have embraced the Olympic legacy, with many of the venues still in use.

Which U.S. city hosted the first Olympic Games?

Most people have to think before answering that question. The St. Louis Sports Commission would like to change this — because St. Louis is “the birthplace of the Olympics in America,” says their website.

The 1904 Olympiad in St. Louis was not a traditional Games as we know it. Competitions were held over four-and-a-half months — from July 1 to November 23 — in conjunction with the Louisiana Purchase Exposition, or the St. Louis World’s Fair. But the event was mostly an American affair. Of the 650-or-so athletes who participated, most were from the U.S. They competed in 94 events in 16 sports and won the first-ever Olympic gold medals (prior to 1904, Olympic champions were awarded silver medals).


NASJA Member Testimonials

  • Seth Masia
    Early in my career, deep in the last century, I had the good fortune to win the Harold Hirsch Award a couple of times. It did a lot for my credibility within the industry and helped me score some freelance assignments.
    Seth Masia
  • Chloe Elliot
    As a relatively new member to the ski and snowboard industry, NASJA has provided me with an invaluable network of writers, resorts and ultimately, resources. In my first year with Ski Vermont I was fortunate enough to travel to Colorado for NASJA’s annual conference where I was given the opportunity to learn more about industry trends and influencers from a panel of industry professionals. The experience was not only informative but also incredibly fun.
    Chloe Elliott
  • Emily Summers
    As a long term member of NASJA, Deer Valley Resort has benefited from the opportunity to create lasting relationships with both press and corporate members. The annual conferences have provided us with an invaluable opportunity to connect with key players in the ski industry. NASJA has provided us with a way to keep informed about trends and personal updates among the snow media.
    Emily Summers
    Communications Manager, Deer Valley Resort
  • Jules Older, Ph.D.
    With NASJA, I've skied New Hampshire,Vermont, Colorado, California, British Columbia. Because of NASJA, I've also skied France, Italy, Scotland, Montana, Idaho, Maine, Alberta and maybe a dozen or so other snowy places.
    Jules Older, Ph.D.
    5 time Harold S. Hirsch Award winner
  • Kristen Lummis
    When I joined NASJA as a snowsports blogger, my contacts in the ski industry were limited. After one meeting, my network exploded, as did my opportunities. Not only that, but now I call many of these contacts my friends.
    Kristen Lummis

NASJA Announces Restructuring

NASJA Revamps, Elects Devlin President

In July, NASJA restructured its organization to better adapt to the continually changing media world. The new NASJA no longer has regions and members join NASJA directly (instead of through a region) and vote for officers directly. It is run by a five-person Board of Directors consisting of a president, 2 VPs, a corporate liaison and immediate past president. For the first time in NASJA's history, the corporate board member has a vote.

Ski journalist Iseult Devlin has been elected president. Bob Cox and Dan Giesin are vice presidents. Stowe’s Jeff Wise is the corporate liaison and Martin Griff is the immediate past president.

Goals include strengthening relationships with other industry organizations and driving awareness and participation of snow sports through communication.

“As the collective communication force within the ski industry, NASJA is in a unique position to organize its members in a way that can help us drive awareness and participation in snow sports,” Nick Castagnoli, Rossignol Group NA brand/communications manager commented.