Cushing, Steadman, Tarallo and Older honored by the NASJA The North American Snowsports Journalists Association (NASJA) honored four individuals who have made significant contributions to winter sports endeavors. The awards were presented at Mammoth Mountain in Central California during NASJA's 50th anniversary annual meeting in April.

Joe Cushing, a pioneer of modern ski-area planning and design in North America and Principal and co-founder of was selected for the 2013 Carson White-Golden Quill Award, named after NASJA's first president. The award, honors a person who has made a significant contribution to snowsports in North America.

During his 35-year career with, Cushing worked on literally hundreds of ski areas throughout North America and the world. Many of these resorts were built from scratch, while others were existing ski areas, renovated to the modern standards and more aesthetic designs that Cushing brought to the industry. His influence on the industry can be seen at the majority of ski areas in the US where ski trails flow gracefully down the mountain and lift capacity is carefully balanced with the available terrain.

NASJA's 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award, honoring a lifetime of snowsports related innovation, competition, design and other endeavors went to Dr. Richard Steadman, a sports medicine pioneer.

Dr. Steadman has done more by himself and via his longtime sports medicine clinic in the Vail Valley to keep injured skiers skiing, than anyone else in history. He has written the book on innovative surgical techniques, especially for knees, and athletes and non-athletes alike, have benefited from his work.

Dr. Steadman developed special surgical techniques that allowed several US Ski Team members to return to competition and win Olympic medals. His first sports client was Cindy Nelson, and in 1976 he was named Chief Physician for the US Ski Team. In 1989, his work was recognized with his election to the U.S. National Ski Hall of Fame.

Mary Jo Tarallo was the recipient of the 2013 Bob Gillen Memorial Award. This award, named in honor of a former Ski Magazine editor and marketing wizard at Crested Butte and Sugarbush ski resorts, honors an individual who exemplifies the highest standards of professionalism in public relations and media communications.

Look at any national snowsports promotion for the last quarter century and chances are Tarallo has had a hand in guiding it. Currently, Tarallo serves as the Executive Director for "Learn to Ski and Snowboard Month" and the "Bring a Friend" initiative, independent national grassroots programs designed to bring widespread attention and participation to snowsports. “Learn to Ski and Snowboard Month" and "Bring a Friend” are supported by NSAA, SIA, PSIA-AASI, USSA, NSP, SnoCountry and many other national, regional and local organizations and businesses in our industry, including the media.

The 2013 winner of the Mitch Kaplan Memorial Award for Excellence in Snowsports Coverage is longtime NASJA member Jules Older.

Older is a writer, videographer, broadcaster, speaker, consultant, editor and multiple winner of NASJA's Harold S. Hirsch journalism awards.

For 12 years Older was editor-in-chief of Ski Press Canada and Ski Press USA. His commentaries have been broadcast on Vermont Public Radio and on KALW and KQED in San Francisco. He is Radio New Zealand's "IT Guy in San Francisco," contributing editor at Vermont Business Magazine and, until its demise, humor columnist for TWA.

The Kaplan award is presented to the journalist whose work best captures the spirit, enthusiasm and dedication of Mitch Kaplan, a long time freelance writer and photographer and former NASJA Secretary Treasurer, who died in 2010.

© NASJA 2013